Goodbye 2009, Hello Next Year

The time of the season to put 2009 in the past and 2010 in focus has arrived. I’ve enjoyed the medals from Worlds and will continue to do so, but having those medals does not mean I can slack off. In reality they mean I need to work harder, work smarter, and learn how to suffer more.

I feel that I have unfinished business in both the Kilo and the 4000M Pursuit. The snapped chain really did mess with my head and cost me considerable time, not enough to have won, but I would have been much closer with a clean race. The Pursuit was a tale of two different races. My qualifying run was not good. It was only ok, 5:07 was enough to take to the Bronze Final, but I really thought/hoped I had a sub-5 minute race in my legs which would have placed me in the Gold/Silver Final. I didn’t get the mental part of the race right and it cost me. My finals race went almost perfectly to plan. I got out, quick enough, got on schedule, and only had one lap of missed focus, but I recovered from that. I was behind for most of the race, but was even with 1000M left, and eventually won by a few seconds. An interesting note is that my final Kilo was faster than the previous 3 so I was accelerating in the final laps, and perhaps left some time on the track. Another point of interest is that I rode faster than the World Champion’s time in the Final, he rode a 5:02.9xx to my 5:02.4. That hasn’t really bothered me because I know the Pursuit is a race where maturity counts and I grew up a lot in the hours between the qualifier and final. I still have a lot of growing and learning to do, and I’m looking forward to that.

If I had double podiumed in any other year I would have that Rainbow Jersey as a definite goal for next year, but 2010 is the start of a new classification system. My category is getting integrated with a faster category so my realistic goal is to get faster and climb back onto the podium against stiffer competition. I still have a World Championship as my big goal, and would like to realize it in the coming years.

I’ve given a lot of thought to my goals for next year, and like I said, another Podium at Worlds sits very high on my list. Most of my goals are specific time or power numbers. If you’re interested in those numbers, you can ask me. I do feel that it’s high time I got my Cat3 upgrade, I have the ability to ride with the 3’s, I just need points. I’m planning to race a little more on the road than I did last year to get them. I’d like to do another TT at Lowe’s Motor Speedway and beat my old time. Road TTs will be a more prominent part of my racing internationally so I have some work to do (I also need a TT bike!) Something new and exciting for next year will be Elite Track Nationals. It fits into my schedule, and while I might not be able to beat Taylor, I should be able to ride a respectable race with the rest of the field in the Pursuit.

It’s going to be a fun year!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

